Our Mission

Provide support to students, staff and the community in ways that contribute to their ability to excel in academic progress and enrichment activities

2024 Teacher of the Year


Rebecca Ruth

John A. Gregory Teacher of the Year Award

sponsored by Farm Bureau Financial Services, John B. Gregory, Agent
Recognizes and honors teachers who go above and beyond to meet the needs of Glenwood Community School District students.  The award aims to recognize that teachers face many challenges every day in their classrooms, and to promote public recognition and respect for the teaching profession.
2024 Nominees

Nicole Guild, Northeast Elementary
Bruce Landstrom, Thrive/High School
Becky Ruth, Middle School
Jennifer Tallmon, West Elementary

2024 Teacher of the Year

Rebecca Ruth, Middle School

Past Recipients

2023: Melanie Howard, Middle School
2022: Sue Peters, Northeast Elementary
2021: Christina Boldra, High School
2020: Adam Giaffoglione, Middle School

Foundation Grants

The Classroom Grants program helps meet the goals of our mission by providing funding to staff for projects that enhance the student education experience.  These resources are designed to foster creativity in learning and provide innovative ways to engage students.  Maximum Award: $1000  Applications are open August through September of each school year.
Glenwood School Foundation GrantGlenwood School Foundation GrantGlenwood School Foundation GrantGlenwood School Foundation Grant
Glenwood School Foundation GrantGlenwood School Foundation GrantGlenwood School Foundation GrantGlenwood School Foundation Grant
2023 Foundation Classroom Grant Recipients
  • Jennifer Buckingham, Middle School: $1000 for Ocarina& Kalimba Instruments
  • Lynda Eckheart, Middle School: $250 for Creative Day
  • Kamden Elwood & Samantha Wilson, Northeast: $900 for Sensory Room Redesign
  • Deb Fajardo, Northeast: $475 Wagging our Worries Away
  • Michelle Fornoff, West: $350 for Flexible Seating
  • Nicole Guild & Preschool, Northeast: $700 Preschool Family Night
  • Jordan Hansen, Northeast: $750 for Family Matters Books
  • Liz Jensen, Northeast: $450 for Phonemic Awareness
  • Marcia Van Ness, West: $700 for Classroom Transformations
2022 Foundation Classroom Grant Recipients
  • Kirsten Cashatt & Deb Fajardo, Northeast: $1000 for Computer Science & Coding Bee Bots
  • Michelle Fornoff, West: $625 for Generation Genius Science Learning Tool
  • Kara Gibson, Northeast: $1000 for Ramily Matters
  • Rebecca Griffin, Northeast: $400 for Decodable Books for Intervention Groups
  • Allison Henderson, Northeast: $700 for Preschool Family Night
  • Elizabeth Jensen, Northeast: $300 for Phonemic Awareness Development Tool
  • Eric Rasmussen, High School: $1000 for 9th American History Extension to SAC Museum
  • Sarah Smith, Northeast: $1000 for Stop! Collaborate and Listen! Magnetic Whiteboards
  • Jennifer Young, Northeast: $1000 for The Science of Reading & Decodable Books
2021 Foundation Classroom Grant Recipients
  • Beth Burgess, High School: $1000 for Vocational Academy
  • Mary Pat King, West: $600 for Multisensory Magic
  • Connie Cook, Northeast: $1000 for Positive Behavior Interventions Systems
  • Michelle Manning, HS: $1000 for Therapy Dog Training
  • Sandra Dollen, All Schools: $1000 Teammates Mentoring
  • Michelle Millar, West: $1000 Screen Time Alternative
  • Linda Eckheart, Middle School: $750 for Celebrate Creativity Day
  • Jennifer Tallmon, West: $700 for Engineering Matters
  • Deb Fajardo, Northeast: $850 for Kindergarten Community Builder
  • Jeff Yoachim, High School: $1000 for Art 3D Printer
  • Dara Harms, Northeast: $1000 for Phonemic Awareness
Your support helps make all of our programs possible.

Follow us on X/Twitter: @GlenwoodCSF

Follow us on Facebook

Contact Us
Glenwood Community School Foundation
PO Box 377
Glenwood, IA 51534
We are a 501(c)(3) nonprofit tax-exempt philanthropic organization

Foundation Board of Directors

President: Tiffany Harger
Vice President: Kori Kenkel
Secretary: Monica Mayberry
Treasurer: Amy Koontz
Jason Bardsley
Mark Aust
Christie Keller
School Board Rep: Elizabeth Richardson